Writing the Victory Gospel Series

Writing the Victory Gospel Series

WHEN-MEMORIES-FADEIn 2006, I entered that year with a deep desire for change. During my journal writing time, I started to write scenes. My curiosity grew and the scenes became chapters and after several stops and starts, a story had grown into a novel. I knew by the time I finished my first novel that a few of the minor characters would have their own story, so the Victory Gospel Series was born.

For other authors, a series may be born when readers become attached to a character from the first novel. That’s when you see authors continue to write one book after another with the same character. After writing When Rain Falls, I realized readers really liked the main characters, Candace and Darnell.

As I started writing When Memories Fade, I wasn’t sure how Candace and Darnell would fit. While the books are apart of the same series, I enjoy series that are more stand-alone stories. Meaning if a reader read When Memories Fade before reading When Rain Falls, they wouldn’t feel lost or as if they were missing something.

For fans of When Rain Falls, I’m happy to let you know the Victory Gospel Series has grown into a true book series. Candace and Darnell return as supporting characters and there is a nice update to their story in When Memories Fade. I’m getting ready to write the third and final book in the Victory Gospel Series. I’ve been waiting years to write and look forward to developing the story behind Lenora Freeman, the First Lady of Victory Gospel Church. Stay tuned!

Leave a Comment